09
Jan
10

#9 leaving on a jet plane



009/365 leaving on a jet plane, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

I love the atmosphere at airports. I could sit there for hours, sipping coffee and people watching. The heartbreaking lovers’ farewells, or the joyful reunions, busy businesspeople with their briefcases, the constant flow of such different people from all corners of the world. Where are they all going, what is their story – it all fascinates me.

For us, living in a bicultural family, and being keen travelers, regular visits to airports have been a natural part of our lives. An airport always fills me with an irresistible urge to take off towards an unknown destination and experience something new and exciting. As much as I love going on a journey, I’m not so good with seeing others off. Today was a day of goodbyes at the airport.

My mother-in-law from England usually spends Christmas with us, and early this morning we drove her off to Helsinki airport to take her flight home. It’s always such a sad moment, especially between her and her only grand-child. I can remember our daughter being not even two yet, when she started sobbing uncontrollably after granny had disappeared through the security control. But as the saying goes: “A farewell is necessary before you can meet again.”

The photo of the three of them, with granny’s bright red luggage, got all shaken, as I was trying to keep up with them for the check-in. Goodbyes always make me teary-eyed anyway, so that explains the blurry vision!

2 Responses to “#9 leaving on a jet plane”


  1. January 10, 2010 at 11:04

    I can’t stand airports; they’re like little microcosms of fake shopping mall worlds. They make me feel claustrophobic. At least here in Australia. I can, however, understand your desire to take off to another country. I haven’t travelled for 25 years now, and I’m hoping to start saving for a trip out of Australia so that I’m still able to walk by the time I can afford to go. I like the movement in the photo. It’s difficult saying goodbye to people we love. We used to live away from famly when our boys were young, and I remember my two year old crying with happiness when my mother surprised him with a visit.

  2. 2 sinikka
    January 10, 2010 at 12:49

    I know what you mean, Tania. There is the fake shopping mall world aspect to airports, too, but I manage to block it out somehow in the anticipation of going somewhere. Totally agree, goodbyes are horrible – I always wish I could just skip them somehow. Hellos are so much nicer!


Leave a Reply

