18
Jan
10

#18 tulip



018/365 tulip, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

Tulips are here. Every year, soon after Christmas, they fill the shops in colourful masses. Our local supermarket has a constant offer on a bunch of ten for a couple of months. I love them, and keep buying lots to fool myself that spring is just round the corner. Today I was practising minimalism (following the Daily Shoot assignment) so I only put one in this vase. It’s my favourite colour, orange, although the white around it makes it look almost red.

The vase is my favourite, too. I think almost every Finnish home has at least one of these, designed by maybe the most famous Finnish designer and architect Alvar Aalto. The shape is absolutely ingenious, because it always looks good, whether you put one delicate flower in it, or a big bouquet.

We now have ten of these in this vase, and another ten pink tulips in another vase. Colourful flowers really brighten up the room – and cheer me up, too. It was the ninth day without the sun today…

4 Responses to “#18 tulip”


  1. January 19, 2010 at 00:13

    Lovely. I love tulips, although in Winter my heater is up too high for them to survive for too long in the house. I love the vase, and I don’t think I’ve seen this designer in Australia.

  2. 2 sinikka
    January 19, 2010 at 19:47

    I am not at all surprised that you haven’t. After all, Finland is no world power, so you would probably only learn about it by coincidence, like here.

  3. January 22, 2010 at 02:00

    This is a great shot! A little more light may have helped, but I love the minimalism here.

  4. 4 sinikka
    January 22, 2010 at 09:00

    Hi DelBoy

    Thank you for your comment. I just took it in natural light, and I was already struggling a bit, because over here it gets dark soom after 3pm these days. I don’t know how to use any extra light sources creatively, so that’s why.


Leave a Reply

