02
Mar
10

#61 national symbols

061/365 national symbols, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

Nationality, identity, belonging… these thougts are circling my mind after a short visit to the multicultural country of Singapore. Do the anonymous pictures of European architectural heritage instill the same feeling of belonging as pictures of prominent national figureheads, such as the first president of Singapore on their bank notes? Many Finns still miss our national currency after the switch over to euroes back in 2002.

Who am I primarily – a Finn, a European? One of my aims as an educator is to guide my students to become active citizens of the world, but what defines a global citizen?

2 Responses to “#61 national symbols”


  1. March 3, 2010 at 01:22

    Excellent questions. You always push my thinking, Sinikka. Thankyou. I like the aim of connecting students as citizens of the world, but do we understand who we are? I think that this begins to be clarified as students connect and discuss how they are unique, how they are similar.
    Welcome back.

  2. March 6, 2010 at 14:08

    Thank you Tania! In the increasingly ‘mix-and-match’ world identity becomes fuzzy sometimes. I, for example, have already moved away from my parents’ solid, patriotic concept of nationality, not to mention my daughter whose existence is much more globalized than mine. All these thoughts make me want to read G. Pascal Zachary’s ‘The Global Me’ again – it has very compelling thoughts.


Leave a Reply

