11
Mar
10

#70 today at school

070/365 today at school, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

Today’s Daily Shoot also became my 365 photo.

“Rules” can be stifling if taken to extremes. Break the rules today with focus, composition, etc, and see what happens.

I don’t often follow rules when I take my pictures. I doubt whether I even know enough rules about photography yet. Something for me to learn! So this photo probably breaks quite a few – the rule of thirds for one thing, or asking people to pose towards the camera.

I wanted to post this picture in my 365 series, though, since we finally got the janitor to put the nail on the wall to hang our special batik painting given as a present on our student exchange to Singapore two weeks ago. It is a beautiful piece by one of their students, and quite unawares they had chosen a perfect colour to match our new sofas in the hallway.

Thinking about rules makes me remember the totally different setting at the school in Singapore. So much more disciplined and filled with rules, starting from the uniform dress code. Our students don’t realize how free and easy their life is until they experience a different reality first-hand.

Of course, you do need a set of rules at school. But where to draw the line between sensible rules and stifling extremes?

4 Responses to “#70 today at school”


  1. March 11, 2010 at 22:49

    I don’t know photographic rules either, but your photo seems nicely balanced – with the seated girls balanced out by the standing girl. The batik looks great there and a wonderful reminder of your experiences. Yes, a balance between sensible and stifling rules… I think that sometimes we might forget the reason behind rules and then we’re in danger of insisting of rules for rules sake. I would say we need rules to ensure that everything functioned smoothly and everyone respected each other.

  2. 2 sinikka
    March 13, 2010 at 18:08

    I totally agree with your idea of why we need rules, Tania. At school we have a few ridiculous rules that even I find hard to insist on – this one (http://sinikkaprojects.blogspot.com/2009/10/should-there-be-21st-century-hat-code.html) being one of them.

  3. March 15, 2010 at 22:54

    Sometimes the ridiculous rules are the ones that make school so irrelevant to students. They can’t look beyond the rules to other aspects of the experience.

  4. March 16, 2010 at 08:27

    You are so right, Susan. It just amazes me that sensible adult colleagues aren’t brave enough to let go of totally outdated rules.


Leave a Reply

