23
Mar
10

#82 kiwi time

082/365 kiwi time, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

Today’s Daily Shoot asked us to:

Look for angles today: 90s, 45s, or any other combination of angles that make an interesting composition.

The hands on an ordinary old-fashioned clock form different angles at different times. I really like our kiwi kitchen clock. Its happy round green face with the fun design greets me first thing every morning, and keeps me on time for work.

I much prefer checking time on this type of a clock, probably because I usually need to know how much time I’ve got left before the next deadline, and the degree of the angle helps me gauge this more easily than looking at digital numbers

A teacher’s working day is strictly divided into designated time slots, and each lesson plan in the course of the school day has its almost minute to minute hectic schedule. When I first started teaching, the first thing I used to do, after coming home from school, was to free myself from wearing the watch. Somehow it marked the difference between my own flexible time and the rigid school routine. Later on, I developed a strong dislike to wearing a watch at all, and now don’t even own one. Our classrooms have no clocks either, and the school laptops can’t seem to keep the time very well, so I have developed my inner school clock over the years. It works pretty well, and it’s only occasionally that I have to check from the students how we are doing with time.

2 Responses to “#82 kiwi time”


  1. March 23, 2010 at 23:41

    I’m impressed with your inner clock. It reminds me of a Seinfeld episode where Kramer insists he has an inner clock but it ends up failing him. Your clock is deliciously quirky!

  2. 2 sinikka
    March 24, 2010 at 18:38

    Thank you for your comment, Tania. My colleagues are often impressed by me not wearing a watch. I must admit, sometimes I do take my mobile phone to the classroom to keep checking the time but that’s only if I’ve got a particularly important and detailed lesson plan. My inner clock also seems to work in my sleep. I usually wake up about 5-10 minutes before my alarm is due. There have also been occasions when there’s been a power cut at night and my electric alarm radio doesn’t work in the morning, but my inner clock has woken me up just in time to still make it to work on time – by the skin of my teeth a couple of times, but on time anyway!


Leave a Reply

