13
Jun
10

#164 gardening continued

164/365 gardening continued, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

Planting summer flowers is my favourite activity in the first few weeks of summer holiday. After a year of teaching, where the results of your efforts are not always readily visible, it is really rewarding to work with your hands, and follow the growth and blooming of your plants daily.

Today I planted flowers in our balcony and window boxes. I always get the cascading geraniums that I fell in love with as a university language student, spending most of my summers somewhere in central Europe learning French and German. Over there, the climate seems to be particularly favourable for these flowers, especially in Austria or Switzerland.

I keep trying, and luckily these flowers are quite hardy and can tolerate a careless amateur gardner like me. Even though I don’t usually manage to create the actual ‘cascade of flowers’, we do get to enjoy some red flowers all through the summer.

2 Responses to “#164 gardening continued”


  1. 1 Susan van Gelder
    June 15, 2010 at 05:25

    After a long winter, I love to have bright flowers in my garden. These bright geraniums would certainly count among them. I remember driving in Normandy and seeing all the window boxes with cascading geraniums. I hope yours do your proud this summer.

  2. June 15, 2010 at 10:26

    Thank you Susan. Our seasonal rhythms seem to be very similar. I want to stock up all my senses with life and colour for the long dark months.


Leave a Reply

