16
Aug
10

#228 a classroom with a view

228/365 a classroom with a view, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

I liked today’s Daily Shoot:

Make a photograph of a plant today. It can be a small one in a pot, a big one in the park, or a tree in a forest.

I take a lot of photos of plants anyway, so this was a good reason to see what was going on with plants around my school and our home. So many other people seem to be into plant photography, too. Obviously, plants offer a wonderful variety of colours, shapes, textures, sizes, changing stages – you name it. They also stay still most of the time. And, of course, you avoid most of the privacy issues that you have to take into account when uploading photos of people.

I chose this picture today, as I see this bush through the window of the classroom where I mostly teach for the first term period this year. I don’t know the name of it (in any language!) but I love the big white blooms – even though they slightly remind me of snow, too (which I don’t like that much!). Whenever students are working by themselves, I stare at these flowers and float into my own dream world.

I think every teacher – and student, too, for that matter – should have something pretty to look at in the classroom. Either a nice picture on the wall, or an interesting or pretty view from the window.

Here is the set of plants that caught my eye today.

2 Responses to “#228 a classroom with a view”


  1. 1 Susan van Gelder
    August 17, 2010 at 01:38

    They look like hydrangeas to me. And very beautiful. Nice to be able to see them peeking into your classroom.

  2. August 20, 2010 at 09:30

    Now that you mention it, they might really be hydrangeas.


Leave a Reply

calendar

licensing information

Creative Commons License
This work is licenced under a Creative Commons Licence.

