02
Sep
10

#245 happy name day to me

245/365 happy name day to me, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

In my country each day of the year is dedicated to one or a few names. It’s an old tradition, and widely celebrated. September 2nd is my day. I actually like name days better than birthdays, as they don’t remind me of the constantly adding years.

Family, friends and colleagues congratulate you on this day in different ways. It used to be postcards, which have turned into SMSs lately. I received this lovely bouquet from a cousin, who visited in the evening. Beautiful autumn colours!

4 Responses to “#245 happy name day to me”


  1. September 3, 2010 at 08:18

    Happy (belated) nameday.

    I love your attitude to these celebrations (as opposed to birthdays). Of course we don’t have the nameday tradition in the UK, so I still tend to forget to check when friends’ namedays are. ooops

    • 2 sinikka
      September 5, 2010 at 16:13

      Thank you for your wishes. Of course these days will be easily ignored when it’s not a custom you’ve grown used to from childhood on.

  2. 3 Susan van Gelder
    September 5, 2010 at 15:43

    There’s nothing wrong with aging – as long as we keep doing it.

    Happy Name Day and beautiful flower and photograph.


Leave a Reply

calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

licensing information

Creative Commons License
This work is licenced under a Creative Commons Licence.

