16
Sep
10

#259 last family dinner for a while

Made me smile when I read today’s Daily Shoot assignment on the screen today:

Preparing or eating food is a rhythmic part of life. Make a photo of a meal you prepared our ate today.

I was just rushing off to go home to prepare a special meal for the evening during my two free hours in the middle of the day. It’s the day of sending our only child off to the big, wide world. Our daughter will be leaving off to university abroad later tonight. She wished for my vegetarian lasagne as the last dinner together.

I am so happy for her, and at the same time, I can’t deny that the empty nest syndrome is kicking in a little, too. Tomorrow there will only be two plates on the table – and looks like warmed up left-overs from today to eat. The rhythm will change – and I will have to get used to buying and cooking much less!

3 Responses to “#259 last family dinner for a while”


  1. September 18, 2010 at 19:15

    wonderful that you could prepare such a nice dinner

    we too are in transition and it takes getting used to.

    I made the mistake of calling our house ‘home’ to terrific son today. Home is now the Student village – but at least he knew what I meant, and didn’t correct me. But my heart/conscience did.

  2. 3 Susan van Gelder
    September 20, 2010 at 05:59

    Hope the empty nest is not feeling too empty. Our job as parents is to help our children grow wings – congratulations on providing your daughter with hers.


Leave a Reply

calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

licensing information

Creative Commons License
This work is licenced under a Creative Commons Licence.

