11
Jan
11

011/2011 treacherous ice

011/2011 treacherous ice, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

At long last, a little bit of asphalt visible in our yard after many weeks! I don’t know which is worse, though – a thick blanket of white snow, or the slippery icerink we have outside the door at the moment! I had to adopt my careful ‘winter walk’ again today, which, according to my family, makes me walk like a funny old duck! Better safe than sorry, I think – and at my age, I’m not worried or embarrassed about looking ridiculous any more.

Water, a prerequisite for life, and beautiful in a myriad of forms, can also turn out to be fatal in extreme conditions. We have been following the tragic news about Australian floods, and here in Finland, one person died and several got injured when, with the warming temperature, huge blocks of icy snow started falling from roofs.ย  How powerful the elements are!

10 Responses to “011/2011 treacherous ice”


  1. January 12, 2011 at 02:06

    Especially like this shot against the dark gray background. Yes, the beauty of the elements can often show a negative side. I do hope you continue your ‘funny walk’ and stay vertical! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 2 Sandra V.
    January 12, 2011 at 04:40

    Oh I know that ‘winter walk’ well!
    A very nice close-up of the ice and asphalt.

  3. January 12, 2011 at 14:18

    I love this macro shot! Excellent focus and contrast!

  4. 4 sinikka
    January 12, 2011 at 14:38

    Thank you for your comments! @Sandra V. – nice to meet somebody who know what I mean by ‘winter walk’ ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 6 sinikka
    January 13, 2011 at 12:40

    It sure is lethal, Lorna!

  6. January 13, 2011 at 13:11

    I wouldn’t be going anywhere with that lethal ice. Have you got special shoes?

  7. January 13, 2011 at 21:03

    I’ve only got ordinary winter boots – my high-heel school ones are especially dangerous! Elderly people clip metal stopper on the soles of their boots, but you are really considered rather old if you use them, so I refuse to even think about them yet… They are a good idea, though.

  8. 9 Susan van Gelder
    January 16, 2011 at 05:51

    Looks lethal (but nice photo). I know the walk – and we are expecting rain on Tuesday followed by a drop in temperature so I may be adopting that walk very soon. But I am not above using Yak Trax – metal things you clip onto boots. I would like to age gracefully – or at least in one piece ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. January 17, 2011 at 19:50

    Yak Trax – so that’s what they are called! Good for you Susan, I should stop being silly and sensibly wear those things, too. Can’t be more ridiculous than the walk! Broken bones are a real problem with women of my age – osteoporosis, I guess.


Leave a Reply

calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

licensing information

Creative Commons License
This work is licenced under a Creative Commons Licence.

