03
Feb
11

034/2011 21st-century classroom?

034/2011 21st-century classroom?, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

Visited a local primary school. This is a clean and light classroom in a brand-new extention of the school. What surprised me, though, was that the decor was so similar to when I went to school eons ago!

6 Responses to “034/2011 21st-century classroom?”


  1. 1 Susan van Gelder
    February 4, 2011 at 03:02

    And how sad that this is considered art – very little latitude for creativity. I hope the rest of what goes on in the classroom is a little more open to lateral thinking.

  2. February 4, 2011 at 12:17

    Do snowmen change all that much over the years? Looks like they are interested in tradition in a big way

  3. February 5, 2011 at 03:31

    Curious – is that a ‘chalkboard’? I’m curious as to the use of chalkboards there especially in new/remodeled buildings. Are whiteboards used at all?

  4. 4 sinikka
    February 5, 2011 at 11:38

    Thank you for your comments! This was a good lessons for me about visual literacy and focus on a photo. My main focus was supposed to be on the chalkboard and the old sponge, but as I thought that alone would make a really boring picture, I added the snowmen in the frame. I can see both your points Susan and Jo! I think mostly what is done in our primary schools is this type of ‘imitate a model’ art. Then again, maybe it is also partly to train hand dexterity of small children – I don’t know.
    Marie, there are whiteboards in our schools, too, but curiously, most teachers still want at least one old-style blackboard (or rather greenboard these days) as well!

  5. February 5, 2011 at 15:49

    I like this shot! I could easily see this accompanying an educational article, or in a magazine. Unfortunately there are still plenty of schools around the world (sadly mine is one) that haven’t quite come into the 21st Century yet. Lucky there are those of us encouraging it!:)

  6. February 5, 2011 at 21:44

    The big question is, though, what should a 21st-century classroom ideally look like? I am very eager to say what it shouldn’t be, or that it should be different – but how? And ultimately, will the rearrangement of the environment lead to better learning? We won’t know if we don’t try something new.


Leave a Reply

