04
Jul
11

185/2011 “oma maa mansikka”

185/2011 “oma maa mansikka”, originally uploaded by rosipaw.

There is a Finnish saying ‘oma maa mansikka, muu maa mustikka’ (literally “own country/land strawberry, other country/land blueberry’). It probably came about with the idea of using neat alliterations and references to the abundance of beloved berries in our country, to convey the meaning that your own home is sweeter and better than anything else in the world. I guess, in English, you would say either ‘there is no place like home’, or ‘east , west, home is best”.

The first wild strawberries in front of our kitchen window have ripened while we were away. It’s only been a month since I took this photo of the flowers!

They taste really sweet, although, come to think of it, the saying doesn’t really ring a bell with me, as I find every country/land an equally delicious exotic fruit/berry. Then again, I can’t deny it’s good to be at home after almost a month away!

PS. It’s also really good to have my Canon camera back, after my daughter returned from Africa. I’ve been missing all its feature, most of all, I think, being able to play with the DOF. I never learned to do it with the small Panasonic – maybe it’s not even possible?

1 Response to “185/2011 “oma maa mansikka””


  1. 1 Susan van Gelder
    July 12, 2011 at 05:06

    Nothing like fresh berries – the raspberries are ripe here now. I’m going to the market tomorrow to get some.


Leave a Reply

